Good governance is essential to the success of any organisation. The purpose of governance at The Rose Learning Trust is to ensure it achieves its mission by:

  • Setting the ethos, culture and vision
  • Making decisions about policy and strategy
  • Overseeing and scrutinising organisation performance
  • Ensuring organisational accountability

The Rose Learning Trust has three levels of governance, to hold the CEO and Principals to account, and to ensure that the trust operates as a charity and a limited company should do. 


The Members meet on an annual basis. They have an important role to play in overseeing and holding the Trustees to account for the governance arrangements of the trust. 


The Trust Board meets six times a year and manages the business of the trust with a focus on the three core functions of governance:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction
  • Holding executive leaders to account for the educational performance of its pupils and the performance management of staff
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the trust and making sure its money is well spent

It is assisted in this work by the audit and risk committee. This committee checks that the trust complies with all relevant legal obligations and regulations, both financially and operationally

Local Governing Bodies (LGBs)

Local Governing Bodies meet 3 times a year and examine the performance of each academy in detail holding the Headteachers to account.

The Scheme of Delegation sets out which functions will be delegated 

Click on school names to visit LGB pages.

Richmond Hill Primary Academy

Woodfield Primary School

Balby Central Primary Academy

Crowle Primary Academy

Hatchell Wood Primary Academy

Owston Park Primary Academy

Lakeside Primary Academy


Members 2021-2022


Name Appointed By Appointment Start Date Resignation Date
David Holland Trust 13/01/2017  
David Thewlis Trust 13/01/2017  
Damien Page Trust 13/01/2017  
Sami Miraz Trust 26/03/2021  
Philip Crawley Trust 13/01/2017 09/12/2021


Trustees Terms of Office 2021-2022


Name Appointed By Appointment Start Date Appointment End Date Resignation Date
Peter Haynes Trust 01/02/2021 31/01/2025  
Sarah Page Trust 28/06/2018 27/06/2022  
Ellen Walker Trust 13/01/2021 12/01/2025  
Darren Holmes Trust 28/06/2018 27/06/2022  
Helen Bellinger Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025  
Jeffrey Hudson Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025 02/12/2021
Josh Greaves Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025  
Tracy Pepper Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025 02/01/2022
Jane Marriott Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025  


Trustees left within the last 12 months

Name Appointed by Appointment Start Date Apppintment End Date Resigned
Philip Crawley Trust 13/01/2017 31/08/2022 25/03/2021
Jonathan Glazzard Trust 05/12/2017 04/12/2021 20/04/2021
Jeffrey Hudson Trust 26/03/2021 25/03/2025 02/12/2021

Audit and Risk Committee 2021-2022

Peter Haynes

Ellen Walker

Josh Greaves


Standards Committee 2021-2022

Darren Holmes

Helen Bellinger


Files to Download

Transforming futures collaboratively